Un Petit Plaisir

The only way you cannot know ABBA is if you’ve been living under a rock for the last 50 years. ABBA has sold 375 million records worldwide, making them the 4th best-selling artist of all time.  I could go on for days about their brilliance, but will save it for another more in-depth post about the royal family of foreign pop…But what you must know is that nearly all of their music videos are the same. Don’t get me wrong, I adore them, and will watch ABBA Gold: the Videos from start to finish, but footage is entirely taken and directly inserted to dozens of their videos. If you don’t believe me, Youtube any two or three ABBA videos, and you’ll see what I mean.

Now when I talk about comedy, I don’t think a duo has ever existed as good as French and Saunders. Not only is the writing simply genius and beyond hilarious, but their parodies are so spot on, you’d think you were watching the real deal, and the breadth of their topics of parody is really astonishing. One aspect of their comedy that I always find to be unparalleled is their parody of film and music videos, so I present for your enjoyment this little treat: ABBA: Knowing Me, Knowing You – and the classic French & Saunders: C’est La Vie.

One response to “Un Petit Plaisir

Leave a Reply

