Castle Walls

I’ve recently been really into dubstep – a genre of electronica that originated in South London around 1998.  Its style has been described as “tightly coiled productions with overwhelming bass lines and reverberant drum patterns, clipped samples, and occasional vocals”. Dubstep has had its own interesting evolution over the years but I won’t get into that. The other day I got an album that was someone’s collection of 201 “best dubstep songs and remixes”, so naturally I’ve been listening to it. There has been a lot of great stuff so far but what really caught me was the fAux dubstep remix of “Castle Walls”, the original song I had also not heard before by American rapper T.I. featuring Christina Aguilera.

I think the original is great single, an amazing hip-hop track and Christina’s vocals are as always fabulous! But I am really into the fAux dubstep remix, and though it leaves out T.I.’s rap throughout the remix is darker and haunting. I can’t stop listening to it!

Leave a Reply

